Dr. Nina Ramessar

Dr. Nina Ramessar
Public Relations

Dr. Nina Ramessar is board certified in Internal Medicine and Rheumatology. She first attended the University of Toronto for her undergraduate education, and then completed her medical degree at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago. She worked in the Ophthalmology, Internal Medicine and Emergency Medicine departments before migrating to the United States to do her residency in Internal Medicine and then fellowship in Rheumatology at the State University of New York (SUNY) in Brooklyn. She participated in the Lupus Research Institute Teaching Fellows Project, and other trials focused on the management of lupus patients. During this time, she also presented and published work focused on intra-articular steroid injections.

Following her fellowship training, she worked as a Rheumatologist at Spectrum Lakeland Healthcare in St. Joseph, Michigan. During that time, she has served first as a Question Writer, and then Section Chief on the American College of Rheumatology CARE committee. This program is both nationally and internationally recognized because of its commitment to the ongoing education of trainees and rheumatologists alike. She was an Assistant Professor at Michigan State University (MSU) from 2015 to 2020 and worked diligently with the Internal Medicine and Family Medicine residents. In 2019, she received the GME Family Medicine Faculty of the Year Award. She was active with the Michigan Chapter of Scleroderma Research Foundation and was the Physician Leader for Southwest Michigan while residing there.

In 2020, she became a faculty member and Assistant Professor at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (RWJMS) in New Brunswick, New Jersey. Since the beginning of this tenureship, she has been involved in the development of the lupus cohort, and furthering research in the area of lupus. She is also very involved in the education of the medical students, residents and rheumatology fellows. She became the Vice-President of the Caribbean Association for Rheumatology in 2021 and will serve in this capacity for 2 years.

Our Board of Directors 2021-2024


Previous Executive

President - Dr. Amanda King
Vice President - Dr. Cindy Flower
Treasurer - Dr. Lynda Tilluckdharry
Secretary - Dr. Sharon Dowell

Other directors were 

Dr. Nicole Johnson, Dr. / Prof. Eon Nigel Harris and Dr. Vincent Nwosa

Caribbean Association for Rheumatology
Bay Medical Centre
P.O. Box GM712
Castries | Saint Lucia

send us a message