Willemstad - Curacao
Caribbean Rheumatology Conference 2019

The Caribbean Association for Rheumatology is delighted to host its 10th annual scientific meeting in the beautiful and unique island paradise of Curacao, and is privileged to once again partner with NASHKO in educating the medical community.

May 3rd - 4th, 2019
Registration Open

Caribbean Rheumatology Conference 2019


This 2-day conference features clinical and basic science updates of relevance to medical personel involved in the diagnosis and management of rheumatic diseases and their complications. Because rheumatic diseases are systemic and their complications potentially involve every system in the body, the conference is relevant to many physicians. The conference promises to be interactive with question and answer sessions to allow participants to deepen their understanding of rheumatic diseases.

Presenting faculty hail from the Netherlands, Canada, USA, Panama, Dominican Republic and a host of Dutch, French and English-speaking Caribbean islands. An exciting ultrasound workshop is being taught by the Scottish Rheumatology Ultrasound Group.


Click Here to Review Programme
Dr Amza Ali
Keynote Speaker

Dr Ali trained in Medicine at the University of the West Indies (UWI). He completed the DM in Internal Medicine at UWI and trained in Neurology at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen Square, London (1989-1992), with a research Fellow’s position in the Retrovirus Research Group at the Clinical Research Centre, Harrow, England. He is specialist certified in Neurology by the Federation of Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom. He then completed a clinical fellowship in Epilepsy in New York at the Neurological Institute, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, and is board certified by the American Board of Clinical Neurophysiology (ABCN). He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London, the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Neurology and the American Epilepsy Society. He has received several awards locally and internationally for his work, including the Donald M. Palatucci Award for Neurology in 2009 from the American Academy of Neurology. In 2011 he was recognised by Yale University with the Swebilius Lectureship and Award for his “lasting achievements in the field of epilepsy”. His work has been featured in Neurology Today, the official organ of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). In 2011 and again in 2012 he was chosen as AAN Ambassador to the Caribbean region. In 2015 he was honoured by the Association of Consultant Physicians of Jamaica (ACPJ) for his local, regional and international work in Neurology and Epilepsy. In March 2017 he was selected as one of 3 physicians globally chosen for the International Award for Excellence in Patient Care from the Royal College of Physicians of London, UK. In 2019 he was chosen as Ambassador for Epilepsy by the International Bureau for Epilepsy (IBE) and the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE), the first time this honour has been conferred on a physician of Caribbean origin. He is a Senior Consultant in Medicine and Neurology at the KPH and is also a Senior Associate Lecturer in Neurology at UWI. In January 2016, he was appointed to head the development of research in the Neurosciences within UWI-SODECO (SODECO: Solutions for Developing Countries) at the Mona campus. In February 2016 he was appointed Visiting Professor to the Department of Neurology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT, USA. He continues to actively publish in the neurosciences and to serve on several major international committees, focused on improving global neurological care. He is presently studying for a doctoral degree in the area of Healthcare Economics at the Henley School of Business in the UK.

Dr. Maarten Boers
Keynote Speaker

Maarten Boers is Professor of Clinical Epidemiology. Until 2007 he was Chair of the Department (of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, now renamed ‘Epidemiology and Biostatistics’) he founded at VU University Medical Center, Amsterdam in ’97. From ’90 to ’97 he worked as Associate Professor of Rheumatology at the University of Maastricht, Netherlands. Training: MD (’80), Internal Medicine (‘86), Rheumatology (‘88); PhD (‘89; renal disorders in rheumatoid arthritis): University of Leiden, Netherlands; MSc in Clinical Epidemiology: McMaster University, Ontario, Canada (‘90). Research interests include early intervention and combination therapy in rheumatoid arthritis (principal investigator of the COBRA trial and its recently published follow up study), outcome measures in rheumatology (with Peter Tugwell, co-initiator of the OMERACT (Outcome Measures in Rheumatology) consensus initiative active since 1992; www.omeract.org), impact of diagnostic studies on patient outcome, generic health status measurement, health economics and health technology assessment. He has (co)authored over 400 papers on topics both in- and outside of rheumatology. He is initiator and principal investigator of the GLORIA project (funded by EU-Horizon 2020) that started recruiting in 2016: it comprises an international pragmatic trial of low-dose prednisolone in 800 elderly RA patients. He regularly participates in governmental, charity, and industry (inter)national advisory boards mostly focusing on trial design and analysis, ef cacy, safety and economic issues. He was also member of the board of a company managing clinical trials. In 2010 he started a small company (Epiconsult BV) to host his consulting activities and to allow the development of specialized training courses, including one on data visualization. In addition, he still sees patients as a staff rheumatologist in the Reade Institute in Amsterdam.In education he has had several teaching roles at the medical faculty in Maastricht. In Amsterdam he advised the faculty on improving science education for medical students. He coordinated the design of the science education program in the new medical curriculum of VUmc, and in 2000 founded the Honours Programme that gives extensive science training to talented students. He regularly organizes and participates in postgraduate training courses on topics covering Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Rheumatology, and data visualization.


Our Board of Directors 2021-2024


Previous Executive

President - Dr. Amanda King
Vice President - Dr. Cindy Flower
Treasurer - Dr. Lynda Tilluckdharry
Secretary - Dr. Sharon Dowell

Other directors were 

Dr. Nicole Johnson, Dr. / Prof. Eon Nigel Harris and Dr. Vincent Nwosa

Caribbean Association for Rheumatology
Bay Medical Centre
P.O. Box GM712
Castries | Saint Lucia

send us a message