Trinidad and Tobago
Caribbean Rheumatology Conference 2016
May 6th - 7th, 2016

Caribbean Rheumatology Conference 2016


THE 2016 PLANNING COMMITTEE was pleased to present a conference programme that reflected a broad range of Rheumatological diseases. The programme’s topics included the link between Lupus and Chikungnya, Gastrointestinal Manifestations of Rheumatological Diseases; Rheumatoid Arthritis and an array of stimulating clinical case presentations.

Thank you to all attendees and sponsors for making the meeting a success!


Click Here to Review Programme
Professor Eon Nigel Harris

Served as Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies (UWI) from October 1, 2004 to April 30, 2015 and on his retirement was named Vice Chancellor Emeritus. A Guyanese by birth, Professor Harris now serves as Chancellor of the University of Guyana. Professor Harris graduated magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa from Howard University, with a degree in Chemistry and proceeded on a fellowship to Yale University, where he received a Master of Philosophy degree in Biochemistry. He earned his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania, completing this within three years and again graduating with honours. He then returned to the Caribbean where he completed his residency in internal medicine at the University of the West Indies at Mona and was awarded the post‐graduate degree, Doctor of Medicine (DM). He is internationally known for his work as a Rheumatologist. With Doctors Aziz Gharavi and Graham Hughes in London, he helped to define a disorder which they called the Antiphospholipid Syndrome and devised a diagnostic test (the anticardiolipin test) for it. For this work he shared with Dr Graham Hughes, Dr Aziz Gharavi and others, the Ceiba‐Geigy Prize. Over 150 papers, editorials, reviews and chapters on this subject have been published by Professor Harris. He joined the University of Louisville, Kentucky, in 1987 and by 1993 became Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology. There he launched the Antiphospholipid Standardisation Laboratory which leads worldwide efforts in standardisation of the anticardiolipin test and distributing these standards to over 500 laboratories worldwide. He was one of the initial organizers of a series of International Conferences on Antiphospholipid Antibodies, beginning in 1984 and held every two years since in Europe, Jamaica, the USA and Japan.


Our Board of Directors 2021-2023


Previous Executive

President - Dr. Amanda King
Vice President - Dr. Cindy Flower
Treasurer - Dr. Lynda Tilluckdharry
Secretary - Dr. Sharon Dowell

Other directors were 

Dr. Nicole Johnson, Dr. / Prof. Eon Nigel Harris and Dr. Vincent Nwosa

Caribbean Association for Rheumatology
Bay Medical Centre
P.O. Box GM712
Castries | Saint Lucia

send us a message